Spoiler Alert: Week 1 Winners

6 09 2008

By Mike Gill

The NFL kicks-off tonight (7pm, ESPN) with the Giants and the Redskins.  I will save my NFL preview for Friday, but here is a look at who will be 1-0 on Tuesday (just in case you have to be a wedding or something and can’t watch the games this Sunday/Monday).  Here are my NFL week 1 predictions.

Washington Redskins (0-0) at New York Giants (0-0) – I think Eli Manning has a tremendous season and tonight he will get that going on the right foot.  I suspect a 300-yard, two-touchdown night for Eli and Brandon Jacobs won’t be to shabby either.

Prediction : Giants 27 – Redskins 13

Seattle Seahawks (0-0) at Buffalo Bills (0-0) – Seattle is just about everyone’s pick in the NFC West by default, while the Bills are an up-and-coming team who could be a wild-card team this season.  Seattle is still a good team at home, but they aren’t the same on the road and Buffalo is no picnic.  Trent Edwards is poised to have a solid season, while the Seahawks Matt Hasselback has limited wide-outs to choose from early on.  While I like Edwards, this week its Marshawn Lynch who carries the Bill to a minor upset. 

Prediction: Bills 23 – Seahawks 21

Detroit Lions (0-0) at Atlanta Falcons (0-0) – I think both of these teams stink, but I think the Falcons will stink more.  They have a rookie QB, a Rookie coach, a rookie left-tackle and signed a running back to run behind a horrible offensive line.  That said, the Lions are maybe just what the doctor ordered for week one – but I doubt it.  The Lions have enough weapons on offense to out score the young, inexperienced Falcons offense.  Look for some wide-receiver action in this game, Roddy White scores and Calvin Johnson gets two TD’s as the Lions win this one.

Prediction : Lions 34 – Falcons 18

Dallas Cowboys (0-0) at Cleveland Browns (0-0) – There is alot of hype surrounding the Browns this season, and I think they have talent, but they have a brutal schedule and their weak secondary should get a dose of reality right away with Tony Romo, TO and Marion Barber.  I think the Browns will be exciting, but that doesn’t mean they will be good.  This will be an entertaining game, but I think the Cowboys are just to good at this point.

Prediction: Cowboys 34 – Browns 24

Jacksonville Jaguars (0-0) at Tennessee Titans (0-0) – I am a huge fan of David Garrard this season and I really think the Titans are getting over-looked.  That said, this is a rough physical match-up for both teams in week one, but I think the difference here is Fred Taylor and Maurice Jones Drew.  While the Titans are a good running stuffing team, they won’t be able to run the ball and that will wear down their defense late and give the Jags the week one victory.

Prediction: Jaguars 23 – Titans 21

 

Chicago Bears (0-0) at Indianapolis Colts (0-0) – In college Kyle Orton was a stud quarterback, so was Peyton Manning.  In the pros, Manning is a Super Bowl champ and Orton drinks Jack Daniels – blow out city here.  So many people the Colts will take a step back with injuries to Manning and Marvin Harrison, I think that just when you doubt Manning, he will bite you.

Prediction: Colts 42 – Bears 10

 

New York Jets (0-0) at Miami Dolphins (0-0)– Story-lines headline this AFC East tilt.  Brett Favre wants to show EVERYONE he can still play, while Chad Pennington wants to show the Jets he can still play.  I think both guys still have something left in the tank and will both play at a high level (but not Rickey Williams, he’ll be clean).  Speaking of Williams, I think he runs wild, with 20 carries and 138 yards and 2 touchdowns…but it won’t be enough, Thomas Jones gets the last laugh with 150 total yards and the game-winner late.

Prediction: Jets 27 – Dolphins 23

Kansas City Chiefs (0-0) at New England Patriots (0-0) – My editor told me not to use more then 2000 words, so I am not going to waste anymore on this game (though I think Brady has a monster game).

Prediction: Pats 41 – Chiefs 7

Tampa Bay Buccaneers (0-0) at New Orleans Saints (0-0)– NFC South teams in week one could set the tone for who wins this division.  The Bucs are looking to be the divisions first repeat champion, while the Saints are looking to rebound from a disappointing 2007.  A win here for either team could mean success in 2008 and I think the Saints are poised for a huge season.  Look for Marques Colston to dominate this one and score two touchdowns in route to a Saints win.

Prediction: Saints 27 – Bucs 21

St. Louis Rams (0-0) at Philadelphia Eagles (0-0)– The Eagles are one of my picks for breakout teams.  They will be one of the teams that didn’t make the playoffs last season that will be in them this season.  What better way to begin the season then with the lowly Rams.  I expect Donovan McNabb to have a very good game against the Rams with Asante Samuel showing Eagles fans why they brought him over to the Birds.

Prediction: Eagles 35 – Rams 17

Houston Texans (0-0) at Pittsburgh Steelers (0-0)– Want to see what happened when the Steelers lose at home on opening day to the Texans?  I do too, and we will.  Former WVU boy Steve Slaton gets some revenge on PITT, sort of.

Prediction: Texans 23 – Steelers 21

Carolina Panthers (0-0) at San Diego Chargers (0-0)–  Something tells me the Chargers will have a tough time in this game, but pull it out in the end.  The Panthershave the feel of a team that will be close in alot of games but just not good enough to win them.  I like the receiving core in San Diego, I think they are underrated, and can beat the Panthers secondary.

Prediction: Chargers31 – Panthers 20

Arizona Cardinals (0-0) at San Francisco 49ers (0-0)– Doesn’t seem that these two always open up verses each other?  Even if they never have, it seems that they do, and it seems that the Cards win it usually and should do it again.  If its JT vs. a former MVP, I think I will Kurt Warner here to lead the redbirds past the Niners.

Prediction: Cardinals 31 – 49ers 27

Cincinnati Bengals (0-0) at Baltimore Ravens (0-0)– Baltimore will go with a rookie QB, while the Bengals have a ton of questions.  I think both these teams are bad but the game is in Baltimore and that amounts for something.  I don’t know what to expect from Oucho Cinco or the Bengals running game, but their defense is still bad.  Baltimore should be able to simplify it enough for Flacco and get him an ugly win.

Prediction: Ravens 19 – Bengals 16

Monday Night

Minnesota Vikings (0-0) at Green Bay Packers (0-0)– Everyone seems to like the Vikings, but I am not convinced yet.  Jackson scares me at QB, Peterson is one hit away from missing 2-3 weeks and who are they throwing the ball to this season?  The only change in Green Bay is, well, OK, a big one.  But I think Rodgers is better then Jackson and in Green Bay, that’s enough for me.

Prediction : Packers 30 – Vikings 17 

Denver Broncos (0-0) at Oakland Raiders (0-0)– I took Denver in a suicide pool last season to beat Denver, and they didn’t (I know you lost on that game too didn’t you).  For that reason and that reason only (cause I can’t get a read on Denver this season), I am going with Oakland and I think McFadden has a huge game, just sayin.

Prediction: Raiders 27 – Broncos 24

So I guess you don’t have to watch the games now.  Check back to see how I did, we’ll keep a running tab for you for future reference.

Actions

Information

One response

4 09 2008
Michael DeLuca

Wow, we’ve got remarkably similar picks! Only thing that stuck out to me is that you, like many others, have the Colts scoring an awful lot of points (42) against the Bears. With two starting offensive linemen out, I think Chicago’s D can keep Manning and company in check.

Leave a Reply

